A Room With a View (or Just a View)

Where shall I go? What shall I do?
If I could zoom, where would I go?

Maybe I would go to that room where I could find Scarlett, Rhett and a cast of thousands.
That room might be a good old fashioned library, filled with books and only books
Just books of all titles and sizes, subjects and authors, old and new, true and not.
I picture the library in one of those films that I watch over and over again.
That’s “Ever After” with a young Drew Barrymore and a young Dougray Scott –
So young that the movie makers were not afraid to give us a hint of the young man’s manhood in his white tights and codpiece!
There’s a spiral staircase in a many-windowed tower where all the walls are bookcases
That’s light and bright
With inviting nooks in which to sit and read and includes one of those great and precarious ladders that slides across the tall bookshelves

Come to think of it, maybe I would go to that other room where I could find Scarlett, Rhett and a cast of thousands
Any, preferably, old movie theater would likely do.
There is only one snack bar. It’s on the ground floor along with restrooms that are fabulous architectural monuments unto themselves.
All accessories are heavy and ornate, especially in the screening area.
Like the old and now demolished Carthay Circle theatre in Los Angeles, where my dear and now departed Dad took me to see Gone With the Wind for the very first time.
I miss them both.

carthay circle exteriorcarthay circle interior

2 thoughts on “A Room With a View (or Just a View)

  1. I like your “room with a view. Gone With The Wind was my very favorite book when I read it in the eighth grade growing up in Mississippi. . Our small town didn’t show GWTW so our parents drove us to Memphis to see the movie in a theater like you describe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

