Trying To Be Brief While Serially Lost Part 1

And being brave – combining two prompts on one post!!

Write about a loss: something (or someone) that was part of your life, and isn’t any more. Today’s twist: Make today’s post the first in a three-post series.

What a perfect prompt to describe my relationship with my doppelganger! She was my BFF in college and for quite a few years after. It happened when I told her I was pregnant with my second child. She was the first person that I told after taking the pregnancy test when I got knocked up with my first child seventeen months before. I was 35 at the time. That’s how close we were and how long we had been that close.

My two children had come way too easily when I was way too old to get knocked up while she was having way too many problems reaching the same state. She had been married for a few years and had already had a couple of miscarriages. She and her husband decided to use a surrogate but they were going to pass off this pregnancy to his coworkers like it was hers! Clearly, she was jealous of the ease with which I was popping out kids while she was going to these great lengths to do the same. She was hurt that I couldn’t understand her pain and suffering. That’s how and why we didn’t keep in touch for the best part of 20 years.

I got an email from her on my birthday this year. It was sort of a catch up personally and professionally and suggested we might try to meet in person again sometime. It took me four months to figure out how to respond. When I did, it was with a 596 word email plus a 1,020 word attached letter.

We have been promised that Daily Post will let us know when it’s time to write parts two and three. She and I have been trying to have a phone meet-up for the last 2 months. Parts two and three may be written as a result if the meet-up ever happens so stay tuned for additional brief updates!?

This post is ONLY 400 words. Success!

2 thoughts on “Trying To Be Brief While Serially Lost Part 1

Leave a Reply

